ArcGIS Desktop - Geocoding forum

Utahns need a geocoder!   Roger Dunn Apr 04, 2003
Re: Utahns need a geocoder!   Jason Kadubeck Apr 11, 2003
Re: Utahns need a geocoder!   Roger Dunn Jun 26, 2003
Re: Utahns need a geocoder!   Jason Kadubeck Apr 18, 2003
Re: Utahns need a geocoder!   Roger Dunn Jun 26, 2003
Re: Utahns need a geocoder!   Roger Dunn Jul 01, 2003
Re: Utahns need a geocoder!   Roger Dunn Jul 07, 2003
Report Inappropriate Content • Top • Print • This Forum is closed for replies.    
Subject Utahns need a geocoder! 
Author Roger Dunn 
Date Apr 04, 2003 
Message Utah governments really need a way to geocode addresses. I'm a programmer for a local city government and would love to give it a try. My algorithm and test case is basically this:

Address: 1280 N 1480 W

Algorithm: The geocoder looks for the following addresses, using ESRI's engine, in this order:
1280 N 1480 WEST STREET
1480 W 1280 NORTH STREET
Then it looks for this intersection if it still hasn't geocoded with a good score:
1280 NORTH STREET & 1480 WEST STREET

We have so much data we could be mapping if we had a really good geocoder. But previous related ArcObjects posts have been unanswered.

I need to make my own geocoding style. The manuals say that styles are LocatorStyle coclasses, but ArcCatalog is looking at .lot files in the Locators directory. How does the ESRIFDOAddressLocatorStyle class relate to those .lot files?

In a related topic, I would like to partially subclass, or make a semi-aggregated COM class, that "inherits" from the ESRIFDOAddressLocator coclass. How do I do that?

I've read the Finding Locations chapter 15 of Exploring ArcObjects and have had no help in trying to derive a new geocoding service for Utah addresses, but one that builds on previous technology already written by ESRI. 
  GIS Programmer, Administrator, Coordinator, and Trainer
City of Orem, Utah, USA
http://gis.orem.org 

Subject Re: Utahns need a geocoder! 
Author Jason Kadubeck 
Date Apr 11, 2003