ArcGIS Desktop Discussion Forums

ArcGIS Desktop - Geoprocessing Scripting (Python, JavaScript, VB) forum

Extract all Polygons from shapefile into in...   Ray Davis Oct 28, 2004
Re: Extract all Polygons from shapefile int...   Dave Bollinger Oct 28, 2004
Re: Extract all Polygons from shapefile int...   Nathan Warmerdam Oct 28, 2004
Re: Extract all Polygons from shapefile int...   Amy Steiger Oct 28, 2009
Re: Extract all Polygons from shapefile int...   R.D. Harles Oct 29, 2009
Re: Extract all Polygons from shapefile int...   Ray Davis Oct 29, 2004
Report Inappropriate Content • Top • Print • This Forum is closed for replies.    
Subject Extract all Polygons from shapefile into individual shapefiles 
Author Ray Davis 
Date Oct 28, 2004 
Message Hi there,
I have no experience with scripting (either VB or Python,) and I think that's what I'll need to accomplish this task.

I have a shapefile that contains about 350 US counties. I'd like to extract each one of these counties into their own shapefiles, so I'd end up with 350 shapefiles. We are going to use each county shapefile as a mask to do calculation. How would I go about doing this?

I'd like to name the files using a field value for each county (FIPS_code.)

Help!!!

Thanks,

Ray 

Subject Re: Extract all Polygons from shapefile into individual shapefiles 
Author Dave Bollinger 
Date Oct 28, 2004 
Message You'll need scripting for the loop. I'd probably think about structuring it like this to make it more managable:

1. Create a layer for your counties feature class, include all features, see Make Feature Layer tool.

2. Create a function that takes a FIPS code as a parameter. It then defines a new temporary layer based on your counties, see Select Layer by Attribute tool. It then copies the selected features of that layer to a new shapefile, see Copy Features tool.