Garbage truck routing   Kevin Bell Dec 18, 2009
Re: Garbage truck routing   Jay Sandhu Dec 18, 2009
Re: Garbage truck routing   Kevin Bell Dec 18, 2009
Re: Garbage truck routing   Robert Wright Mar 11, 2010
Re: Garbage truck routing   Kevin Bell Mar 11, 2010
Re: Garbage truck routing   Robert Wright Mar 11, 2010
Re: Garbage truck routing   Joe Borgione Mar 11, 2010
Re: Garbage truck routing   Stefan Vienken Mar 17, 2010
Report Inappropriate Content • Top • Print • This Forum is closed for replies.    
Subject Garbage truck routing 
Author Kevin Bell 
Date Dec 18, 2009 
Message I'm just getting started with routing garbage trucks, and I plan to use the vehicle routing problem routine. Has anyone out there ever done this? I'm currently testing my network by computing the best route to about 1000 homes, and my machine is choking on it.

Stopping at every residential home seems a lot meaner problems that routing school buses.

Can Network Analyst handle a route at this scale? 

Subject Re: Garbage truck routing 
Author Jay Sandhu 
Date Dec 18, 2009 
Message Garbage Truck Routing of residential homes is not optimally solved by a vehicle routing problem solver. This is a different type of problem and best solved by what is called a "Chinese postman" solver also known as "Euler tour". VRP is also set to solve routes that are divided up between many vehicles with some capacity such that each individual route is only a few stops (say 30 to 50). Trying to solve a 1000 stops with a single vehicle will not be fast. And using the 9.3 VRP will not be able to the best solution as it is not solving a Chinese postman problem and the fact that currently intermediate stops do not have a restriction on making u-turns which will give you "unacceptable" routes for a garbage truck.
Regards,
Jay Sandhu 

Author Kevin Bell 
Date Dec 18, 2009 
Message Thanks for the feedback.