Re: Importing CAD drawings into Arcmap   Meh Go Nov 11, 2009
exporting Arcmap features to CAD   Mike Chapman Oct 20, 2008
Re: exporting Arcmap features to CAD   Mridu Pawan Sonowal Oct 21, 2008
Re: exporting Arcmap features to CAD   Tonja Dwyer Jan 21, 2009
Re: Importing CAD drawings into Arcmap   Mridu Pawan Sonowal Oct 21, 2008
Importing ArcMap imagery into AutoCAD   Shea Ripplinger Nov 17, 2008
Re: Importing ArcMap imagery into AutoCAD   Tonja Dwyer Jan 21, 2009
Re: Importing ArcMap imagery into AutoCAD   Mridu Pawan Sonowal Nov 25, 2009
Report Inappropriate Content • Top • Print • This Forum is closed for replies.    
Subject Importing CAD drawings into Arcmap 
Author Chris Walker 
Date Oct 08, 2008 
Message Hey everyone.
I have a question. I often have to import CAD drawings into ArcEditor for such things as subdivision plans and location maps.
I am not very experienced with AutoCAD and I have an issue. Sometimes when I import or Add a CAD drawing into Arcmap the scale reference is WAY off and does not match up with the streets layer.. or the Address Layer etc.. etc. that I would like to import it to.
Any suggestions on how I can make this process more efficient.. Ideally I would like to simply add the CAD drawing and it will simply show up where it is supposed to which happens sometimes and sometimes it doesn't
Thanks. 

Subject Re: Importing CAD drawings into Arcmap 
Author Marie Soler 
Date Oct 17, 2008 
Message I work with both CAD and ArcMap and it can be a trial. I've found that you have make sure the CAD dwg has a coordinate system assigned to it first. To do this you go to the project pull down then go to drawing setup. If your scale is off I would also think maybe your dwg file came from and architect not an engineering firm which uses different scales. We usually have to scale down architect dwgs by a factor of 12 to fit in our engineering dwgs. I hope this helps. 

Author Teri Reynolds 
Date Jan 22, 2009 
Message Marie,